Differences Between iPhone 5/5s/5c Screen Assemblies

When the new iPhone 5s and iPhone 5c were released this past September, as usual eTech Parts got tons of questions about the compatibility between replacement screens for the iPhone 5/5s/5c. This is a question we get every time a new device is released, as people look for more economical ways to replace the front glass of the newest devices.

 

IMG_0001 copy

 

After careful research and comparisons between the three front LCD assemblies, we can say without a doubt each of these screens will not work with any device other than the one it was made for.

 

IMG_0004

 

Each LCD connector is different across the board, while the digitizer cable for the iPhone 5s/5c is the same.

 

822_5600_0013-Editwededed

 

The hole for the home button is the same size across the iPhone 5, iPhone 5s and iPhone 5c.

 

ALmFsPB2O4MaBIS3

 

As seen on iFixit’s teardown, the iPhone 5s screen has a slightly lower weight of 42g while the iPhone 5c screen weighs in at 42.7g.

 

Though there aren’t too many differences between the LCD assemblies for the iPhone 5/5s/5c, there are enough differences to make each screen incompatible for use with any other device. The jury’s still out on whether iPhone 5/5c glass-only repairs can be performed using only the front glass piece, but until we get our hands on the front glass for the iPhone 5c it remains to be seen. We also have parts for iPhone 5s and parts for iPhone 5c available for purchase.

 

Has anyone had any luck using iPhone 5 glass on an iPhone 5c repair? Or vice versa? As always we love hearing feedback from members of our Repair Community, so keep it coming! LIKE us on Facebook and be sure to follow us on Twitter, Instagram, and Tumblr!

 

Update: Dave Takushi has verified for us that the glass on the iPhone 5 is the same as the glass on the iPhone 5c. They have performed glass-only repairs on the iPhone 5c using glass only parts for the iPhone 5. Glass-only repairs are tricky and require the proper tools and training to complete, read more here.

15 responses to “Differences Between iPhone 5/5s/5c Screen Assemblies

  1. We have done glass only repairs on the iPhone 5c and it uses the same glass as the iPhone 5. The frames are different across all three devices, the iPhone 5c and 5s appear to use the same backlight assembly though.

    • Was there any difference in the process between the iPhone 5 glass only repair and the 5c/s? Beyond the different LCD connectors did Apple throw any curve balls in there that would make it more difficult or risky?

      • One of my china suppliers had them available. I may have a couple extras I can sell you if you need some until etech or one of your other suppliers have them. Shoot me an email at davetakushi@yahoo.com if you need some. Thanks

      • The process is the same for all iphone 5 models. No real surprises or anything unusual to watch out for.

  2. I found your post comments while searching Google. It is very relevant information. Great work. Regularly I do not make posts on blogs, but I have to say that this posting really forced me to do so. Really awesome post. Really fantastic and I will be coming back for more information at your site and revisit it! Screen Replacement .

  3. Pingback: iPhone 5s Screen Repairs Arrive Today | iHeart Repair Blog

  4. I’ve got a white 5c And I’m going to replace the glass and digitizer. I’ve found and purchased a white front assembly but before I replace it I’ve been looking for a white home button for it. The only white button I can find is for a 5. It looks the same but is it?

    • Hey Anthony, the home button for the iPhone 5 is the same size as the home button for the iPhone 5c so it should work just fine.

  5. Great info! Question, are there any differences in the LCD screen itself between the various carriers, or is all the same across the board?

  6. Hi all, can someone please give me some advice, as i am a bit confused. I have been repairing phones forever, but just recently purchased a separating machine, as i need to try and get some of the samsung customers on board. I have read to different things with regards to sticking the new glass to the old lcd.Here is what i need to know,although i dont see myself doing many, as the cost of a new assembly now doesn’t warrant it, but what is the correct adhesive for the iphones, is it oca or Loca ?..I have taken it as the done thing that when sticking them together it was definitely Loca, but just read that iphone 5 range should be stuck with oca..Please can someone put me right….oh and by the way I am in London UK, and I am so happy I have found this Page, without doubt the most informative one that I have came across, oh yes we have youtube, but always very skeptical if what i am watching is for real, or somebody trying to be nasty and tell you something that will damage what you are setting out to repair..once again a big huge thanks
    Dave

  7. I bought a replacement front screen for my iPhone 5s. I did everything according to the instructions and came out almost perfect. At the end, when I tried to push the screen down to close it, it didn’t fit! And even the two screws that are next to the charger input didn’t align right. Everything works perfectly except that the screen doesn’t fit correctly. I’m just wondering where I went wrong??? What are the things I could’ve done wrong and what do I have to do to fix it???

  8. I’m assuming I’m not the only one that ended up here looking for a way to identify the cracked screens I already have, so let me clarify how I identify them.

    -A 5 and 5s screen look almost identical, except the ribbon cables on the 5 look much longer.
    -The ribbon cables on a 5 and 5c look identical in length, but the uppermost screw (near the ear speaker) that secures the metal shield on the back of the display runs perpendicular to the screen on a 5 and 5s, but parallel to the screen on a 5c.

    I hope this information helps someone.

  9. Pingback: Difference Between Iphone 5 And 5s | My Blog

Leave a comment